Kristin and Sam, plus one

Welcome to our family! If you could visit our house on a normal Saturday morning, you may see Sam cooking up some eggs and toast while brewing dark roast coffee. Oliver, our 5-year-old son, playing with some stuffies, and Chase and Ladd, our two dogs, curled up on the couch. Kristin might be setting up the Scrabble game or taking a minute to read one of her books. Then we would play Scrabble and listen to NPR. Later in the day you could find us on a hike on one of the many trails in the area or adventuring around Grand Rapids.

We are the Carbaughs!

Us
We met in college in 2001 and married in 2006. We moved to Vermont to attend our graduate schools in 2007 and lived there for 6 years. We loved all the opportunities to be out in nature in Vermont. We moved back to Grand Rapids, Michigan in 2013 to live near our families.
We love to spend time together playing Scrabble, hiking, and talking over coffee. Kristin is adventurous and is always thinking of new activities to do. Sam is silly and brings a lot of jokes and smiles to our journey. We love to work together and as we became parents we learned how well we work together as a team to be loving parents. We had our son, Oliver, in 2014. He is such a happy child and loves to be with people. He looks forward to being a big brother so much.

Kristin
I am a loving and caring person. I love to read, play games and do things outside such as go on hikes, camping, and canoeing. I love my family very much. I love spending time with them and just being together. Another one of my favorite things to do is to draw mandalas as a way to relax. I am a Reading Specialist at Knapp Charter Academy and work full-time during the school year and enjoy my summers off to spend with Oliver. I love working with kids and helping them learn how to read. My most favorite thing is being a mom. I love to plan fun activities to museums or special events and make holidays feel special.

Sam
I am a graphic designer, illustrator, and cartoonist. I work at Our Daily Bread Ministries as a graphic designer. I am the one in our family who always makes a joke and keeps the laughter going. I am a creative person who loves to help others. I enjoy storytelling and have pursued many creative projects. I have illustrated many children’s’ books, often working in areas that require a creative eye or mind, or supporting STEM education. My family is very important to me; I love my wife and son very much. We value time spent together either at home or in nature. Books and stories are also important to me, especially poetry. I believe that imagination is an important part of life.

Oliver
From Oliver, “I am 5 and a half. I love Legos. I love my family. I like to hug my Mommy and Daddy. I like to go on walks and play with my dogs. I am excited to have a baby brother or sister and I will help take good care of the baby. I will sing the baby to sleep, and I will give the baby hugs and play with the baby.” Oliver goes to North Park Montessori. He is a creative and happy child. He loves to be watched by his grandparents and play with his cousins. He also enjoys swimming lessons and jumping on his trampoline.

Our Home
We have lived in our bi-level home since 2013. One of the main reasons we moved to the Creston Neighborhood was to be by Riverside Park and near many playgrounds. We love our home and have enjoyed creating a few native plant gardens in our yard. We have 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. We have enjoyed making our home comfortable by recently installing new flooring and building a new deck. When people walk into our home they comment that it is clean and cozy. We love to create a relaxing environment that we can all enjoy.

Our Dogs
Ladd is our big, fluffy, fun-loving Standard Poodle. He is 2 ½ years old. He loves to be around us and he is very gentle and calming. Chase is our small energetic dog. He is a 9 year old Schnauzer Yorkshire Terrier mix. He loves to play with Ladd and go on walks. He is not much of a cuddler, but he likes to be near us.

Our Friends and Family
Both sets of grandparents live within five miles of us and are very involved in our lives. They both are involved in childcare for us while we are at work. Kristin’s family will often have large family gatherings around holidays and birthdays which are very memorable. We also value our friendships; both Kristin’s Maid of Honor and Sam’s Best Man live in our neighborhood and continue to be close friends. We believe it is important to nurture deep friendships and have many close family friends we have known for over a decade. In many cases, our friends’ children and Oliver are near the same age and several attend the same school and church as our family.


Oliver, Kristin and her Dad/Oliver’s Grampy

Our Story Continues
Our future adopted child will come to us with a family history that we want to stay connected to and we will welcome a deeper involvement with his/her birth family in our lives. It will help a child to know where he/she comes from and that his/her life is multi-faceted. Open and honest communication including a relationship with the birth family will help this little one understand his/her story in a more complete way. Our little trio has been hoping to grow for many years. There is a great deal of hope and compassion in our hearts for others who will share this journey with us. Oliver has prayed for a brother or sister every night since he was old enough to ask. The love we know we can give to more than one child has not diminished. We love and cherish each moment our small family shares. However, we look forward to when we can open our hearts and home to others on this journey.

 

Thank you for reading our profile! For more information about this family, call or text our on-call worker at 616.451.0245, or email cathyr@greaterhopes.org