Kim and Matt

DSC_1330
We want to thank you for taking time to learn about us. We respect and admire your courage as you work through this challenging process. We cannot imagine the emotions you are feeling as you make this incredibly difficult decision. If you decide to choose us we will raise your child in a loving and supportive home. We are grateful for your consideration, and we wish you peace and clarity as you explore the possibility of adoption.

Describe your current occupations.
Kim works as a pediatric physician assistant at Children’s Medical Center in an underserved, mostly Spanish-speaking area on the south side of Chicago. She has dedicated the past 10 years to working with some of the most vulnerable children throughout Chicago. She is constantly inspired by the strength and perseverance of children who face the most difficult, heart wrenching life circumstances. She is currently looking to transition to Grand Rapids and hopes to continue working with the disadvantaged population.

Matt is a baker and pastry chef and has worked at DeBoer Bakery in Holland for the past 2 years.  He is happy to have a career in which he is able to incorporate his creativity and artistic abilities.

What is your anticipated employment plan following placement?
Following placement Kim plans to stay home for the first year. She will work part time from home transcribing electronic medical records. Matt will take off work during the first 2 weeks. When Kim returns to work outside of the home, our parents, as well as an aunt and cousin will all help provide child care.

How do you describe yourself?
Kim is loving, compassionate, nurturing, hard- working, honest, adventurous, and loves to laugh. Kim cares deeply for her family and friends and has a strong sense of social responsibility to those in need. Matt is kind, generous, funny, adaptable, creative, honest and a good communicator. We have good moral characters and a strong sense of empathy that has been developed through our travel and experiences with people from all walks of life.

Describe your relationship.
We met 12 years ago through mutual friends, and we hit it off right away. We continued seeing each other even when Kim returned to Western Michigan University to complete her master’s degree.  For two years we managed a long distance relationship. Then Kim got a job in Chicago as a physician assistant in a pediatric clinic. We decided we didn’t want to be apart any longer so we both moved to Chicago. Matt then entered culinary school at the Illinois Institute of Art and became a baker in Chicago. With both of us having finished school, started worked and wanting a family, we decided it was time to get married! So we got married four years ago, with the hopes of starting a family. We are now hoping to adopt. Last December we purchased a beautiful home in Grand Rapids in order to be close to family and friends. Matt got a great job as a baker in Holland, and Kim is looking for a job as a physician assistant that allows her flexibility as a new mother.

2013-11-03 (1) Barrett 1

We are best friends. We love, trust and respect each other. We have a lot of similarities, but it is our differences that have created a strong relationship. Matt is more reserved, calm and logical, and Kim is more sensitive and outgoing-we make a great team. We understand and appreciate where one another are coming from and this has helped build a strong, stable marriage.

What role does religion play in your lives?
We believe that the essence of spirituality is the interconnectedness of all people. The world is full of immense beauty and inspiration but also of immense pain and suffering.  We believe it is our responsibility to love and care for one another, regardless of the color of our skin, who we love, the God we pray to or amount of money in our bank account.  There is nothing more important than kindness, compassion and empathy.

peru 450

What do you do for fun or to relax?
We both enjoy the theatre, spending time with family and friends, travel, skiing, spending time outdoors, as well as working around our new home. We also enjoy quiet nights at home snuggled up watching movies. Kim enjoys photography, reading, running, and is starting to train for her first Chicago marathon. Matt enjoys watching and participating in sports, drawing, and reading about philosophy and history.

 Barrett 2

What are your views on discipline?
We feel that discipline is extremely important but should not be authoritarian or cruel. We do not believe in physical discipline.  We believe effective communication based on logic and rational thought is the most effective way to discipline a child.

What are your feelings about education?
Education is extremely important to us and we will do our best to support and encourage hard work in school. Children should have the choice to determine their path in life, whether that be to attend college, trade school or another option. However, we also feel that life experience is crucial to develop a well-rounded foundation. So much can be learned through travel, talking with our elders, and interacting with people from diverse racial, ethnic and religious groups.

Describe your relationships with family and friends.
We have a very strong relationship with our families and friends and know that we can always count on them. We spend many holidays together, and frequently get together for dinners, backyard barbecues, and occasional vacations. Our parents and extended family live in and around Grand Rapids. We also have good friends and family in Chicago, Cincinnati and Detroit and will continue to keep close contact with them.

What special information would you like to share about yourselves with a parent considering adoption for their child?
We have open hearts and open minds and want nothing more than to raise a child. We believe that we can provide a child with a loving and supportive home to help guide them to reach their highest potential. Thank you for considering us as potential parents.

P1010130

For more information about this family, call or text our on-call worker at 616.451.0245,
or email cathyr@greaterhopes.org